Introduction

by shaysemmens

My name is Shay Semmens. Five years ago – Valentine’s Day, 2008 – I was officially diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

What followed this diagnosis was a rather aggressive form of chemotherapy and radiotherapy, designed to hit me hard and wipe out the cancer altogether. I was told by my Oncologist that I had somewhere in the vicinity of a 95% chance of survival. I was confident and unafraid. I never even considered that the cancer winning was an option. I knew I would pull through, and in the end, I did.

Now, five years later, it has returned, worse than before.

Last time I had an idea to try and write a book on my ordeal, to give others (perhaps those who lacked my confidence in the face of their own cancer diagnosis) some insider knowledge of what to expect and a reminder that they weren’t alone. Maybe even some hope. However, I’m not proud to say, this was something I never got around to. When the cancer was gone I put it behind me as quickly as possible and got back to living my life – living it better than I ever did before.

Now that my lymphoma has returned, I’ve decided to pursue the idea in a less ambitious blog form. I hope to give details on the kind of things I go through, not just as an easy way for my family and friends to stay updated, but also hopefully for strangers seeking knowledge to learn something too.

If anyone has any questions or wants to chat – whether about their own health issues or those of a loved one, that’s what I’m here for. I certainly don’t have all the answers and can’t provide you with a cure, but I’ll do the best I can to help.

Thank you.

Shay.

